Bex Marshall – (Live in Amsterdam)

Photobucket
Last night I saw a great performance of Bex Marshall at Maloe Malo in Amsterdam.

Before the show She played “Stand up”
See video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOZsH02L8ns&feature=youtu.be
and I had a short interview with her:

Q: When did you start playing Music?
A: I started playing classical, flamenco, ragtime, Latin American music when I was 9. Lots of guitar picking!

Q: I would classify your new CD “House of Mercy” as modern roots music. Do you agree?
A: Thank you and I agree. For me it incorporates all roots, but it is a very strong vain of the blues, the blues runs through everything. The main thing is the song!

Q: As a guitar player, singer and songwriter who are your musical heroes ?
A: There are so many, for guitar I love so many from Jimi Hendrix to Chat Atkins, to vocalists Janis Joplin, Tina Turner, Robert Plant and to songwriting storytellers like Bob Dylan and Elton John.

Q: Who is Bex Marshall? What makes her happy and what annoys her?
A: My husband makes me very happy. I am happily married! Travelling and performing music makes me happy.
Big corporations taking advantage of talented people annoy me.

Q: What are you favorite CD’s?
A: My favorite CD’s are:
Harvest by Neil Young
Atlanta Crossing by Rod Stewart
Exile In Main Street by Rolling Stones

And I love the music of JJ Cale, The Band and Elton John
I like Americana and roots music. Music that provokes emotions.
There is so many music I like!

Q: Where will you be five year from now?
A: Being back here in the Maloe Malo! (laughing). Still being happily married and traveling the world. And album number 6!

Q: Is “House of Mercy” your first album?
A: No it is not. The “House of Mercy” is my third album, I produced it. It is not released yet. We still have to make a few deals.
There are a lot of great guest musicians. It is really All Star Band!
My second album is “Kitchen table” I toured America and Australia with.

Thank you for this interview wishing you lots of success and have a great show tonight.
See a video of Bex Marshall performing live in Amsterdam
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5h-VKZD7b4&feature=youtu.be
(The sound quality is much better than on this video)

Photobucket

Photobucket

More about Bex Marshall at: http://www.bexmarshall.co.uk/
Tour info: http://www.amsterdammusicpromotors.nl
Maloe Melo: http://www.maloemelo.nl/
Last Tuesday I played some of her music of her new album “House of Mercy” in my radio show “Purple Haze” (http://purplehaze.rtvkatwijk.nl). I will play some more tracks of this great album in the upcoming weeks.

3 responses

  1. Love the interview and reference to Bex’s music and background. It’s a beautiful way to connect to an artist’s roots. Bex’s gift was realized at an early age. I believe that most of our beginning ‘s stem from this realisation that music is a “given” and is something that is treasured and loved for a lifetime. It is people like you, Jan, who foster this and share it with others.like myself, for enjoyment or inspiration. Your photos are always top-notch as ususal.. they tell the story even without you doing so !!!:-) Thank you.

    March 1, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  2. Excellent Interview!!! Bex seems too have a lovely taste in her choice Music she likes!!!

    Thanks for introducing Bex Marshal..

    Its a good song “Stand”

    cheers

    March 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm

  3. rosie

    Great performer and very colorful character too , I hope that you enjoyed the interveiw with her too x

    March 4, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

